The Central Iowa Regional Transportation Planning Alliance is established and created as a voluntary organization of certain county and city governments in the Regional Transportation Planning Area. The Regional Transportation Planning Area includes: Boone County, Jasper County, Marion County, and Story County with portions of Dallas County, Madison County, Polk and Warren Counties not included as part of the Des Moines Area Metropolitan Planning Organization’s Metropolitan Planning Area.

The CIRTPA is organized to carry out only transportation planning activities proposed for federal surface transportation funding for the regional transportation planning area. The CIRTPA serves as the designated regional transportation planning agency for the Iowa Department of Transportation for coordinating planning and programming efforts of those regions and fostering new partnerships with state and local officials.